Brief History

The Oblate Fathers established the Notre Dame College (Now University) in 1948.  It was the first College founded in Cotabato City and the entire Province of Cotabato.  It was primarily established as teacher training institution.  It offered courses in Liberal Arts, Commerce and elementary Education.  As soon as the school started operating, building of library collections also began.

In the early years of the University Library it maintained three divisional libraries:  the Main library for General Circulation on the (Ground floor Burke Hall) Periodicals and Filipiniana Libraries (third floor Burke Hall) and the Law Library on the (2nd floor of the O’Keefe Hall).

On August 17, 1976 a strong earthquake rocked Cotabato City causing damage to the buildings and other structures.  The earthquake did not spare NDU.  The library and its collections were moved to the Sullivan Hall, where it remained until 1988.

On December 8, 1988, the United States for International Development (USAID) financed the construction of the library building, was blessed and dedicated, to St. Eugene de Mazenod founder of the Oblates of Mary Immaculate.  Ambassador  Nicholas Platt, the US Ambassador to the Philippines graced the occasion.

The St. Eugene de Mazenod Library is a focal point of University campus.  It is a three story building.  The first floor houses the main collections, University Librarians’ Office, Technical Services Department, World Bank-Knowledge for Development Center, American Studies Resource Center, Peace Resource Center, Discussion Rooms, Photocopying Services, OPAC terminals, Cyber Nook, Laptop station and the Main Circulation loaning services counter

The second floor houses Filipiniana, Periodicals, References sections, Museum, Discussion Rooms, Recreational Reading Area and the Archival Material Section, Microfiche stations, and OPAC terminals.  The collections in these sections includes books, (Filipiniana, Local history), pamphlets, theses and dissertations, microforms, documents, reports, maps, and charts.  The Periodicals section subscribes to local remote serials, journals and newspapers.

The third floor houses the Educational Media Center, Three viewing Rooms, ICT Office, Speech Laboratories, Computer Laboratories and the Dr. Federico C. Aquino Internet Center.

The first librarian to head the University Library is Mr. Samuel F. Cabiles.  When Mr. Cabiles left the library in 1988, Mr. Leonardo A. Ninte, Sr. assumed the position of a University Librarian.

In 1992 the Library was charged to a Library management Team composed of Sr. Dorothy Mulligan, MM as Chairman, Mr. Leonardo A. Ninte, Sr., Mrs. Amelia Cando and Dr. Briccio M. Merced, Jr. as a members.  When Sr. Dorothy left the University for other assignment, Mrs. Josephine J. Ochia was appointed as OIC director of Libraries in 1994-1996.

In 1997, the Library was named University Data Resource Center (UDRC).  Mrs. Rosario S. Naranjo was appointed Director of the Data Resource Center.  The UDRC is composed of three Departments: the Print, Non-Print and   Internet.  Each Department is under a Coordinator who reports directly to the director of the Data Resource Center.  Josephine J. Ochia, was appointed Coordinator of the Print Department in 1997; Sonia D. dela Cruz Print Coordinator in 1998 -2002; Ma. Suzette N. Lao, coordinator of the Non-Print and Alberto Elveña, Coordinator of the Internet Department.

Over the years the University Library had established its linkages and collection with partner institutions.  It has linkages with the US Embassy through its Thomas Jefferson Information Center (TJIC), The Work Bank through its knowledge for Knowledge for Development Center (KDC), Peace Institute Center (PIC), Asian Development Bank (ADB), National Statistics Office (NSO), world Health Organization (WHO), United Information Center and the Asia Foundation.

The University Library has been a charter member of Academic Libraries Book Acquisitions Systems Association, Inc. since 1972.  Also since May 6, 2002, the library has become a member of the Academic Libraries Information Network (ALINET) in Mindanao with the resource sharing program is bibliographic in nature.

The Library currently is a member of the Academic Libraries Book Acquisitions and Selection Association (ALBASA) based in Cebu City and the Philippine Libraries Materials Project (PLMP) based in Cagayan de Oro City.  As a member of these organizations, we participate in reciprocal sharing and other activities of the organization.

In 2003, the Data Resource Center was changed to University Library consisting of the Print, Non-Print and Electronic materials.  Prof. Sonia D. dela Cruz assumed the position University Librarian in 2003 until her retirement in May 2018. As head of the sector, she is also assigned as Director of the American Studies Resource Center (ASRC) and contact person of the Knowledge for Development (KDC) Center.

On the same year, the Engineering collection was transferred and house at the Engineering Library at the second floor of Fr. Quinn Building, Engineering Complex and on 2009 it was transferred to a well-furnished Engineering library was housed at the ground floor of the McGrath Building.  While the Law/Graduate School collections are housed at the Bishop Nepomuceno Building catering to the needs of the graduate school and law students.

The university library continue expanding its network and linkage with potential partners in the region. On February 7, 2018, the Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas – Cotabato Branch and Notre Dame University bind into contract through the establishment of the Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas – Knowledge Resource Network (BSP-KRN) at the university library and the signing of the Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) with Fr. Eduardo M. Santoyo, OMI, PhD, Officer-In-Charge (OIC) University President representing Notre Dame University and Director Sonia S. Delos Reyes representing the Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas.

In 2018, the university library was named as the university’s Learning Resource Center (LRC). Prof. Charlyn S. Tacan was delegated and assumed the position director of the department from June 2018 – present. As head of the sector, she is also acting as the Director of the American Corner and contact person of the Knowledge Development Center and the Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas – Knowledge Resource Network.